Skip to main content



The San Mateo County Community College District Board of Trustees is an independent, policy-making body charged by California Education Code with responsibility for establishing academic standards, approving courses of instruction and educational programs, and determining and controlling the operating and capital budgets of the District.

The San Mateo County Community College District is co-terminus with the boundaries of San Mateo County.  The Board of Trustees consists of five elected members, each elected by the voters of specific areas within the county.  In 2017, the Board adopted a new election model, moving from an at-large election system – whereby trustees ran countywide – to trustee areas in which each trustee represents a discrete area within the District/county.  Trustees are elected to staggered four-year terms.  The Board also has one non-voting student trustee who is elected by representatives of students of the District’s three colleges. The student trustee is elected annually.

The Board of Trustees holds one business meeting each month where matters relating to personnel, finances, facilities, information technology, curriculum, policies and other operational issues are discussed and approved.  Additionally, the Board holds three study sessions and a retreat annually.

Meetings of the Board of Trustees are open to the public and public participation is encouraged.  Meetings are generally held at the District Office at 3401 CSM Drive, San Mateo, CA 94402, and can also be accessed virtually via Zoom.  The meetings generally begin with a closed (executive) session at 5:00 p.m. and an open session at 6:00 p.m.  Agendas are published online ( or up to five (5) days (depending on the type of meeting) prior to the day of a meeting, and may also be requested by contacting (650) 358-6753 or emailing