Skip to contentSkip to main navigation

Board Members

The San Mateo County Community College District is governed by a six member Board of Trustees, five elected at-large by County voters for four-year terms and one elected by students for a one-year term.

The Board governs one of the largest community college districts in the State of California. The Board generally holds public meetings at 6 pm on the second and fourth Wednesdays of each month at the District's headquarters, 3401 CSM Drive, San Mateo, California.

Agendas for the meetings are posted several days in advance of the meeting or may be reviewed online or requested by phoning (650) 358-6753.

  • Maurice Goodman profile

    Maurice Goodman

    Current Board Vice President-Clerk. Elected November 2015. Becomes the first African American to serve on the Board and, as a former student leader and product of the District, brings a unique perspective to the already progressive and student centered team. Is a father and husband and worked as a legal paraprofessional for nearly a decade prior to turning to a career in educational leadership and youth development. After completing degrees in Administration of Justice and Paralegal Studies at Skyline College, went on to California State University, East Bay and received a Bachelor’s degree in Criminal Justice. Working as an educator, was elected to two terms of office on the South San Francisco Unified School District Board of Trustees and served as President twice. Volunteer experience includes work with the Red Cross, South San Francisco Host Lions Club, North San Mateo County Boys & Girls Club and Operation Genesis. Is a passionate advocate for all students, with a focus on the underserved students and families in our community. Term expires 2020.

  • Richard

    Richard Holober

    Current Board President. Elected to the Board in November 1997; was Board President previously in 2002, 2008 and 2011. Former member and president of the Millbrae Elementary District Board; current Executive Director, Consumer Federation of California. Serves on Improving Access to Educational Opportunity Task Force. In 1995, served on California Department of Education's School to Career Curriculum Committee. Served on the California Community Colleges Vocational Education Plan Committee and the San Mateo County Private Industry Council. Wrote the Minimum Wage Initiative (Proposition 210) and was the manager of a successful campaign for passage of Proposition 210. Served on the Board of Trustees of the United Way of the Bay Area, Caltrain Citizens Advisory Committee, and the San Mateo Growth Policy Council. Graduate of University of Rochester; also attended graduate school at Cornell University. Resident of Millbrae. Term expires 2018.

  • Dave

    Dave Mandelkern

    Elected to the Board in November, 2003; was Board President in 2006, 2012 and 2016. Also serves on the President’s Council for Innovation at Skyline College. Is currently Chair of the California State Parks Foundation, and is also a Board member of the Beyond Barriers Athletic Foundation and the Quantum Leap Healthcare Collaborative at UC San Francisco. Has previously been a Board member of the Bay Area Chapter of the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society and was their 2001 Silicon Valley Man of the Year. Also was previously a Board member of Charge Across Town, the Volunteer Center of San Mateo County, the Symphonix League of the San Francisco Symphony, was a member of the 1997 San Mateo County Civil Grand Jury and served on the San Mateo County Office of Education Internet Access Task Force. Is a retired Silicon Valley serial entrepreneur. Was president and co-founder of Maverix Biomics, Inc., a "big data" software company for analyzing genomic sequence data; founder and CEO of QuickHealth, Inc., a provider of primary care medical services; co-founder, Executive Vice President, and Chief Technology Officer of Docent, Inc., a pioneer in online learning software; and CEO of Talarian, Inc., a provider of real-time message-oriented middleware. Has more than 35 years of entrepreneurial experience with Silicon Valley startup companies, including creating two publicly-held companies with a market cap at one time in excess of $1 billion. Graduate of Stanford University with a Bachelor of Science degree (with distinction) and a Master of Science degree in Electrical Engineering. Resident of Hillsborough. Term expires 2020.

  • Tom Mohr

    Thomas Mohr

    Elected to the Board in November, 2013. Served as Board President in 2017. Began a fifty-year career in education as a high school chemistry and math teacher. Servied as principal of three different high schools in the north county before becoming Superintendent of the San Mateo Union High School District. Shortly after retirement from the high school district, became the President of Cañada College where he served in that role for six years before retirement. Board member of several educational and philanthropic foundations. Term expires 2018.

  • Karen Schwarz

    Karen Schwarz

    Elected to the Board in November, 1995; has served five terms as President of the Board. Past President of the San Mateo County Colleges Educational Housing Corporation Board, overseeing operations of the College Vista and Cañada Vista residential communities for faculty and staff. Previously served as an elected member of the San Mateo County Board of Education (1988-1994) including two terms as Board President. Elected and appointed to several educational and community associations, including the San Mateo County School Boards Association (President, 2001-02), California State School Boards Association, California County Boards of Education, and League of Women Voters. Extensive PTA executive leadership experience; past President of South San Francisco PTA Council. Honors include: 2011 inductee into San Mateo County Women's Hall of Fame, Soroptimists Distinguished Woman of the Year Award, and numerous South San Francisco Honorary Service Awards. Resident of San Mateo County for more than 40 years. Currently resides in Redwood City. An appointed member of the Redwood City Library Board; Board member of Broadway by the Bay Theatre Company; member of the Peninsula Hills Women's Club. Term expires 2020.

  • AlfredoOlguin

    Alfredo Olguin Jr. , Student Trustee

    Elected April, 2017. Born and raised in South San Francisco to parents who migrated from Mexico, my identity constructed a diverse and conscious perspective cultivated by the rich culture of the Bay Area. As a junior at South San Francisco High School, with the support of irreplaceable people, began to organize and delved into examining social and political movements’ effects on their respective society. The following academic year, elected as ASB President, served a semester as Student Trustee in the South San Francisco Unified School District, received the 2015 Principal's Student Leadership Award, and emerged as a regular presence at South San Francisco city meetings. Currently attends Skyline College as a full-time student and is an active participant in multiple clubs on campus. Played a key role in creating the successful cross campus network of student organizers known as SMCCCD Rise Up. In the future, plans on transferring to a 4-year university to pursue a career in public health. Term expires 2018.