The San Mateo County Community College District Academic Senate is comprised of appointed members of the Academic or Faculty Senates of Cañada College, College of San Mateo, and Skyline College.

The purpose of the District Academic Senate shall be to assure that the faculty at the San Mateo County Community College District have formal and effective procedure for participating in the formation of District policies on academic and professional matters, in accord with the provisions of the California Administrative Code providing for the establishment of district senates, especially sections 53200 through 53206.

The District Academic Senate Governing Council is the voice of the faculty on matters related to curriculum and instruction.

We work collaboratively with college administration, staff, and students to promote academic excellence.